Social Networking – Research

‘Find online social networks that connect with your work or present content that you’re interested in. Find a range that covers commercial opportunities, professional networking, archived work, learning opportunities, or discussions around illustration. You might want to join in on some of these forums.

What did you find and how does this inform your understanding of illustration? Share what you have found on OCA’s forums.’

Learning Opportunities

I can’t really say enough good stuff about Skillshare. One of my fellow students mentioned it on Facebook some time ago, and I’ve been a regular ever since.

As you can see I’ve clocked up quite a lot of hours watching tutorials on illustration, digital art, fine art, graphic design and marketing.

What’s even better, is that many artists and designers not only share their artistic skills, but talk about how to prepare work to a professional standard, how to approach agents, publishers, get licensed by companies etc etc.

Prior to this, I took advantage of the free lessons when they appear on Creative Live, and have also purchased a few lessons on Udemy.

Sites like Skillshare also allow you to upload your own work to share with fellow students.

I’ve previously uploaded artwork to ‘Art Tutor’ (a fine art site) the other members gave helpful feedback which was great. (I can’t include a link as I’m no longer a member – you can’t pay for all these sites at once!)

Commercial opportunities & professional networking

I don’t feel I know enough about this subject yet, but I can say that I have had friendly comments from creatives on LinkedIn. According to successful Illustrator, Stephanie Fizer Coleman Instagram can attract both customers and interested art directors, and putting time into social media is generally important. I gather that no-one wants to reveal who their agent is, or which art directors they like to work with (and it would be extremely rude to ask!) The general advice I’ve gathered is to do your homework in the field you are interested in and build up your own contacts. For example, I really like Anita Jerams work. She’s licensed by the UK company Two Bad Mice.

http://www.twobadmice.com/tbra.asp

It is theoretically possible they might be interested in some of my work at a future date, as it could correspond with their house style?! (Not my best photo but you get the idea)

Because of health restrictions, I’m not capable of working long hours or to a tight deadline. I wonder if selling direct to customers, rather than working for companies is a better fit for me?

Consequently, I’ve looked at what other illustrators are doing on sites such as Red Bubble and Society 6, Patreon and Etsy, which does offer possibilities.

Marketing wizard April Bowles-Olin also has chronic health problems. I love that she has shared this publically, and how she works when she can, coming up with strategies that make the most of her best health days (eg  batch recording videos) https://www.blacksburgbelle.com

My friend Emma and her business partner Deb self publish a personalised handmade children book which sells to customers all over the world and has been voted 2017 ‘Best personalised children’s book of the year’ by The Independent. A fantastic achievement! It shows that it is possible to promote a self-published book successfully. Emma is really generous with her advice, and we have several ideas in mind for the future to cross promote each other’s products/record video footage of each other and so on.

Here they are at the top of the list!

https://www.independent.co.uk/extras/indybest/kids/books/best-personalised-childrens-books-for-kids-uk-peppa-pig-wonderbly-reviews-a8010646.html

And a 5 star rating on Amazon from over 300 reviewers

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Personalised-Book-rave-reviews-photo/dp/B002D30KVQ

I also have found my friend Mimi a brilliant help on this subject (she’s an artist and designer – poor health meant she sadly had to leave her former job, but she has experience of working for big clients such as Mothercare.) We have discussed joining forces to develop possibly a children’s book with a disabled main character (Mimi is a wheelchair user, I’m a former wheelchair user) and related products.

Talking to creative friends who are already self-employed is really helpful. And in fact people in other sectors are equally good at feedback – anyone who runs a small business and has to market themselves usually have good advice to share.

Locally, I also belong to the DAN Facebook page (Devon artists network) but this is rather low key and not really focused on business or marketing.

Elsewhere on the web, I’ve complied a shortlist of useful links I’ve bookmarked:

https://www.digitalartsonline.co.uk/features/illustration/this-social-network-lets-you-have-conversations-through-drawings/

https://www.itsnicethat.com/categories/illustration

https://www.artistsnetwork.com/art-mediums/drawing/the-illustrators-market/

https://www.illustrationweb.com

https://www.european-illustrators-forum.com

https://www.booooooom.com/blog/art/illustration/

https://illustrationfriday.com/2015/10/how-to-make-the-most-of-the-online-art-community/

Association of Illustrators

American Institute of Graphic Arts

Graphic Arts Guild

Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators

To sum up, I think the degree course has opened my eyes to how broad illustration is, and how many niche areas there are. I will continue to learn online and network particularly with friends to develop ideas about how I can best market my skills, bounce ideas and collaborate. Knowing more experienced folk to act as mentors is invaluable!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.